Currie - New Community

A history of Currie

For over 100 years, the lands known as CFB Calgary played an important role in the growth of Canada. So it’s only natural this rich history is a central part of Currie’s future


  • 1873

    European settlers found the settlement that will become Calgary.

  • Fort Brisebois is renamed Fort Calgary by Colonel James Macleod.

  • 1884

    Calgary is officially incorporated as the Town of Calgary and elects its first mayor, George Murdoch.

  • Calgary is officially incorporated as The City of Calgary.

  • 1911

    Currie’s future site is first designated by the government of Canada for military use. It becomes home to practice maneuvers in the days prior to World War I.

  • 1912

    The Calgary Stampede is organized and launched.

  • 1933

    New military base to be built on the site and named after one of Canada’s most decorated military leaders, Sir Arthur William Currie.

  • 1947

    Oil reserves found in Alberta trigger an oil boom in Calgary.

  • 1966

    Currie Barracks is renamed Canadian Forces Base Calgary (CFB Calgary).

  • First 15+ pedestrian walkway constructed in downtown.

  • 1988

    Calgary hosts the Olympic Winter Games.

  • Government of Canada announces the pending closure of CFB Calgary.

  • City of Calgary forms Citizens Advisory Roundtable to carefully develop Currie Barracks, maintaining a community voice in all phases of planning.

  • CFB Calgary is officially decommissioned, and Canada Lands Company purchases CFB Calgary.

  • 2001

    The CFB West Master Plan for Currie Barracks is approved, envisioning a vibrant, mixed-use, sustainable community for people to live, learn, work and play

  • The Currie Barracks Community plan is approved and land-use is confirmed.

  • 2009

    Currie Barracks officially launches for sale and the very first single-family homes begin construction.

  • A new plan for Currie Barracks is considered to better align with a changing city.

  • The new plan is approved by the City of Calgary.

  • 2016

    The new Flanders Interchange opens for public access to Currie.

  • “Currie Barracks” is renamed “Currie.”